Students are awesome

4 Jan

People say really stupid things to those that are grieving.  This was covered in a previous post.  However, people can be amazing during such times as well.

I received a sympathy card from one of my students over the Christmas break.  I knew who it was from when I glanced at the address sticker, and I figured his mother had sent it.  That alone was enough to make me smile and tear up.  However, when I opened the card, I saw that the writing inside was clearly the student’s.  Very nice.

white roseToday, on the first day students returned from the break, another student brought me a beautiful arrangement of white roses.  *tears* 

Sometimes teaching makes us want to tear our hair out (or someone else’s), but then things like this happen, and it’s all worth it.

2 Responses to “Students are awesome”

  1. Michael G. January 4, 2011 at 10:42 PM #

    They fiwnd a way to give back to us as much if not more than we invest in them. If you care about your students, you can expect the unexpected in terms of gratitude and acknowledgement. You sound like a tremendous teacher that deserves all the accolades you get.

    Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

